R.I.P. Chi Cheng

image

I don’t normally leave comments on our obituaries, simply leaving a picture of the deceased and/or a video. But I feel I must say a few words here as this band meant so much to me as I got into rock and metal and still do to this day.

Chi Cheng might not have been the world’s most prominent bassist, but damn, his bass grooves were heavy, so much so it defined Deftones sound when it came to those ear-splitting moments. Needless to say, I was shocked to learn of his horrific car accident in 2008 that left him in a coma. He seemed to be on the long road to recovery, having made progress despite hitting obstacles along the way – hence why, as I’ve experienced, to suddenly have those hopes crushed in such fashion is so frustrating.

Our thoughts here go out to Chi’s immediate family and friends, and indeed the Deftones and anyone else close enough to him to know the real Chi. I can’t claim to be more than a fan, but Chi was never outspoken, never sought to create controversy around him, and always put his heart and soul into every record, and into everything he believed in; indeed into any time I was lucky to see. the Deftones prior to his tragic accident.

R.I.P. Chi

Leave a Reply

