Scott Sorry leaves The Wildhearts

image

Yesterday the Wildhearts announced the news that bassist Scott Sorry has left the band after five years. Scott issued the following statement:

“Throughout my career as a
musician I have never been more proud to be a part of something as I have in The Wildhearts. I’ve had the honor to play with the most talented musicians/songwriters that I could have ever dreamed of. The only thing I love more than being a Wildheart is my family. With my oldest son being diagnosed with Autism, I
need to give them the most stable environment possible.

Unfortunately, that stability does not include me playing in a band across the ocean in a different country. So with much respect and a heavy heart I am bowing out of my favorite band. I just can’t commit to the time the band would need from me anymore. I love those guys like brothers and wish them and you all the best. I’m sure I’ll see you all again as retirement doesn’t
really stick well to guys like me,
but for now I bid you a fond
farewell. Thank you for everything.

Sincerely Scott Sorry x”

Normally we don’t comment on band departures or line-up changes because a) they’re ten-a-penny, and b) we just don’t have the time to report them all. Any of them. But seeing as though a) I have more spare time this week, and more importantly b) The Wildhearts are one of my favourite bands, I wouldn’t want to pass up this opportunity to express my sadness at this news while at the same time applauding Scott for his contribution to the band and for his amazing decision to take the time to look after his family for a while.

Despite being a relative latecomer to The Wildhearts, they have always held a place of high regard in my life, and indeed, it was the last Wildhearts album that Sorry featured on – ‘¡Chutzpah!‘ – that ranks among my favourite of all time, moreso for its personal importance it had for me at that time in my life. There was something about that record that raised spirits. Indeed, I often feel that the last few years of the Wildhearts have been a golden age for the band, so often overlooked for their drug-fuelled glory days of the 90s.

The rest of the band have announced that ‘Random’ Jon Poole, currently bassist for Ginger Wildheart’s solo venture, will fill the vacant role. The band are still scheduled to play a sold-out Christmas show on December 17th.

Once again, we wish Scott Sorry all the very best for the future, and hope he gets the very best out of his time off the road and with his family. Based on that last paragraph of his statement, this won’t be the last we see of him.

Peter Clegg

Leave a Reply

